I rode a bike today!

Okay, I know that’s usually way more impressive coming from a 4-year-old who just had her training wheels taken off, but here’s the facts:

Fact 1: I haven’t been on a bike in a decade.  Literally.

Fact 2: The last time I rode a bike, I ran into a concrete wall.

Fact 3: I’ve always been timid about riding a bike, even when I was little.  I don’t think I was ever actually ready to have the training wheels off and I can count on one hand the number of times I actually enjoyed riding a bike.

So even considering getting on a bike is a big feat for me.  Actually riding one is cause enough to bust out a bottle of wine and holler, “whoo hoo!”

But I did it today.  It was epic and wonderfully hilarious.  It took me at least six tries to get moving and “stopping” meant hopping off of the bike instead of using the brakes because I felt like I was going to pitch face first over the handle bars if I moved my hands down far enough to reach the brakes. (Obviously it wasn’t a great fit anyhow.)

Oh, and I can’t ride in a straight line–at all. Good thing I had the whole road to myself…  (And no I had not already busted out the aforementioned bottle of wine. I’m just that awful at riding a bike.)

Needless to say, this is the first of many steps to actually finding a bike and becoming comfortable with riding it on the road.  But I’m determined.  And this 23-year-old version of me ain’t backin’ down.

One thought on “I rode a bike today!

Leave a Reply

